The Submillimeter Array (SMA)

Pre-announcing EAO submissions to the SMA/ASIAA Call for Proposals

The East Asian Observatory would like to inform the EAO community that the second opportunity for astronomers from East Asian participant regions to apply for SMA time under the ASIAA allocation for the 2017B Semester will open soon.

The SMA is a re-configurable interferometric array of eight 6-m antennas on Maunakea jointly built and operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and the Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics. The array operates in the 230 GHz, 345 GHz and 420 GHz bands.

The SMA will soon be accepting proposals for the 2017B observing semester (16 November, 2017 – 15 May, 2018) from principal investigators from the worldwide astronomical community. The proposal deadline is 06 September. 2017, 16:00 EST (US) [06 Sep. 2017, 11:00 HST (Hawaii) / 07 Sep. 2017, 05:00 CST (Taipei) / 06 Sep. 2017, 21:00 GMT].

Astronomers wishing to submit a proposal for this Call are being strongly recommended to provide an ASIAA contact as a CO-I to provide access and support for such programs. If you do not already have an ASIAA contact please email either Naomi Hirano or EAO at the emails below with your area of interest from the following list:

  • Distant galaxies
  • Nearby galaxies
  • High mass star formation
  • Low mass star formation
  • Evolved stars
  • Polarization measurements
  • Time domain

Proposals should be submitted to the SMA Observer Center. You will need to create an account on this page. The proposal will then be submitted from the “My projects” page. Standard science projects are limited to 10 “tracks” in a semester per proposal. A single track is typically one night (from ~6 p.m. to ~9 a.m.) or half night (so called first-shift or second-shift) depending on the required sensitivity, uv-coverage, and source availability.

Significant additional bandwidth is offered this semester. For more information, including instructions and  tools for proposal preparation and submission, please visit the SMA Observer Center website.

For questions (including instrumentation) please email: hirano “at” asiaa.sinica.edu.tw

For other questions or concerns please email: EAO_SMA_sub “at” eaobservatory.org

Please liaise with the ASIAA/SMA contact or EAO staff listed above for further information. If you do intend to write an SMA proposal please drop us an email.  This is to allow us to estimate how many proposals to expect, and also to help arrange collaborators, and to plan for the resources which will be necessary to support your proposals.

Print Friendly

Comments are closed