Subaru Call

EAO Subaru 17B Call for Proposals – now closed

Please note there will be no call for Subaru proposals for the 2018 A and B semesters for EAO astronomers

EAO time is introduced for S17A and S17B to promote scientific collaborations among scientists in the East Asian Observatory (EAO). For the S17B semester, the EAO time will guarantee 3 nights for this semester. Scientists belonging to the institutions in China, Korea, Taiwan, or Japan are eligible to submit proposals to the EAO time (hereafter EAO proposal).

The S17B semester will run from: August 1, 2017 – January 31, 2018. The call is now open. The Deadline of Normal/Intensive Program Submission is: March 7 (Tue), 2017 12:00 (Noon) in Japan Standard Time (i.e., March 7, 3:00 am in UT). Further details (including information regarding instrumentation) can be found at the Subaru Call for Proposals Page.

In order to promote collaborations, each proposal must include Co-Is from at least two partners of the EAO. Only EAO regional astronomers are eligible to be listed as investigators on the proposal. The EAO also has created a committee of experienced astronomers throughout the regions who will be assisting regional scientists who are interested in submitting a proposal. The committee members can provide proposal assistance, feedback and help to connect investigators with possible collaborators in other regions.

We request that you provide notification to EAO via the email:

EAO_subaru “at”

of your intent to submit a proposal and though it is not mandatory, we encourage you to use the expertise of your regional committee members, before Feb. 24. You may contact the regional committee members with an outline of the proposal (e.g., title, abstract, PI name and list of Co-Is). The contacts for the regional members are provided here:

  • Korea:
    • Dr Narae Hwang: nhwang “at”
    • Dr Minjin Kim: mkim “at”
  • Taiwan:
    • Dr Keiichi Umetsu: keiichi “at”
    • Dr Zhong-Yi Lin: zylin “at”
  • Japan:
    • Dr Tohru Nagao: tohru “at”
    • Dr Masateru Ishiguro: ishiguro “at”
  • China:
    • Dr Lei Hao: haol “at”
    • Dr Eric Peng: ewpeng “at”

In addition, in order to encourage further collaborations among scientists in the EAO community, there will be an occasion for the approved EAO proposal(s) to invite additional co-investigators from the EAO community. This will be organized through EAO: to understand this process please see the link for open enrollment to the successful 17A Subaru EAO projects:

Submitting your proposal

The submission process of the EAO proposals and the review/time-allocation processes are described as follows;

1. EAO Proposals should be submitted to Subaru Telescope in usual manner. The format of the proposal is the same as normal proposals. Applicants are required to explicitly specify “[EAO Time]” in the title head of their proposals to distinguish from normal proposals.

2. The review and time-allocation process for the EAO proposals are the same as those for normal programs. Referees will review proposals and Subaru TAC will make decisions on the open-use telescope time allocation.

2.1 TAC will allocate observation time to the EAO proposals in the order of proposal score as Director’s discretionary time (DDT) until the total number of nights allocated reaches three, even if their scores are below the threshold for normal proposals to be approved.

2.2 If there are more EAO proposals beyond the threshold when the total number of nights allocated to the EAO proposal reaches three in the process of 2.1, TAC will still allocate observation time to them as a part of open-use time. Note that even if TAC will allocate more than three nights as a part of open-use time, all successful EAO proposals will be opened to the EAO community to invite additional co-investigators.

3. Results of the selection will be reported to representatives of EAO as well as PIs of proposals. The PI name, contact information, proposal title and instrument request for all 17B EAO proposals to Subaru will be shared with EAO, in order to track and promote participation by EAO community.

4. This discretionary time (DDT) has the following limitations:

4.1. Time exchange programs (Gemini and Keck) are not eligible.

4.2. Service programs, ToO programs and HSC queue-mode programs are not eligible.

4.3. Time requests are to be limited to a maximum of three nights.

Should a researcher require these programs or a program with nights larger than three, they should submit a regular, open-use proposal.

Comments are closed.